This Franciscan church dedicated to St Matthew, dates from the late 13th century. Its architecture, representative of that of the mendicant orders, benefited a few years ago from a careful restoration project which enabled the church to regain its original state.
Thanks to its astonishing acoustic qualities, the protestant church plays host to numerous concerts each year, including several held as part of the Colmar International Music Festival.
Dedicated to the creator of the Statue of Liberty in New York, the Bartholdi Museum in Colmar is located in the artist's birthplace. In the course of a tour of the rooms, visitors can view sketches, models, sculptures, drawings, photographs and paintings by Auguste Bartholdi (1834-1904). This talented sculptor also produced the Bartholdi Fountain in the Place Bellecour in Lyon, the Belfort Lion and the equestrian statue of Vercingetorix in Clermont-Ferrand.
Italy does not have the monopoly on cities built over water and this charming little district in Colmar is dubbed "Little Venice", doubtless due the houses that line both sides of the river like in the city of the Doges.
The river Lauch's course is lined with half-timbered houses that may viewed as one wanders from bridge to bridge, or alternatively on a leisurely boat trip. The scene brings Bruges to mind, famous for its canals, but here characterised by an unmistakeably Alsatian ambiance.
Ideal for a romantic stroll as a couple.
Located right in the middle of the historic centre of Colmar, the Collegiate church of Saint-Martin is a major work of Gothic architecture. Its construction dates from 1235 to 1370. Ravaged by a fire in the 16th century, the upper levels of the church were rebuilt.
In 1575, the bulb lantern was added to the spire. During the 18th century the church gained an organ made by Silbermann.
During the French Revolution the Collegiate church of Saint-Martin was elevated to the rank of a cathedral, before once again returning to its status as a collegiate church.
In the 16th century, this former Franciscan convent was abandoned and it was turned into a hospital. However the building was struck by lightning, and was rebuilt between 1736 and 1744 using some of the stones from the city fortifications which had been dismantled in 1673.
The hospital remained in service until 1937 when it was replaced by the new Pasteur Hospital, in the west of the city.
Two IUT departments of the University of Haute-Alsace occupied this building for a short period. Now the building houses the Edmond Gerrer Culture and Media Centre.